GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

Thomaston, Georgia 30286

MINUTES

STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE November 21, 2011

The called meeting of the State Executive Committee of the Georgia High School Association was convened for one agenda item submitted by the Reclassification Committee.

The meeting was called to order by President Gary Holmes at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, November 21, 2011, at the Georgia High School Association Office, Thomaston, GA.

Invocation was given by Dr. Ralph Swearngin, Executive Director.

Roll Call by Joyce Kay, Associate Director, showed the following:

Present:	46 Absent: 4 (R. Garrett, L. Campbell, T. Arasi, W. Wade)				
Wes Taylor	Ed Pilcher	Wayne Tootle		Jim Morrell	Raynette Evans
Evan Horton	Garrett Black	Rodney Walker	Kevin Hill	Jesse Crews	Debbie Ball
Earl Etheridge	Mike Davis	Marvin Fields	Sam Barrs	Britt Ingle	Pat Blenke
Donnie Griggers	Bob Brannon	Mike Parris	Carror Wright	Glenn Tidwell	Bill Truby
Christian Suttle	Don Breedlove	Mike Cammack	Greg Oglesby	Marc Khedouri	Rudy Hampton
Nathan Turner	Ron Sebree	Jay Russell	Dexter Wood	Duane McManus	Terry Rogers
Gary Long	Don Corr	Jay Floyd	Glenn White	Donnie Drew	Lucia Norwood
Dave Hunter	Tommy Stringer	Tracy Sanford	Jim Hughes		Gary Holmes

Earl Etheridge presented the motion from the Reclassification Committee asking that the Executive Committee rescind the policy that allows schools to drop certain special-needs students from their FTE counts. Rodney Walker seconded the motion.

Dr. Swearngin, Executive Director, explained to the Committee the rationale for reconsideration of the agenda item. Tommy Stringer, spokesperson for the Reclassification Committee, further explained the reasons for the request to rescind.

A brief discussion and question/answer session followed.

MOTION PASSED - Voice Vote - Unanimous

Dr. Swearngin reminded the Committee of the reclassification process and schedule over the next several weeks.

Motion was made, seconded, and passed, to adjourn.