GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

Thomaston, Georgia 30286

MINUTES

STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE January 10, 2008

The called meeting of the State Executive Committee of the Georgia High School Association was convened for the final vote on Reclassification for 2008-10 and other agenda items.

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, January 10, at the Central Georgia Convention Complex, Forsyth, Georgia.

Invocation was given by Dr. Ralph Swearngin, Executive Director.

Roll Call by Associate Director, Joyce Kay, showed the following:

Absent: (3) Anthony Dimitri, Stuart Bennett, Don Rooks

Present: (47)

Wes Taylor	Ed Pilcher	Wayne Tootle	Jarrett Luke	Robert Douberly	Raynette Evans
Fred Price	Dave Chandler	Wade Marchman	Jesse Crews	Britt Ingle	Lynda Martin
Earl Etheridge	Craig Davis	Rodney Walker	Bobby Costlow	Mike Carswell	Randall Edmunds
Danny Cronic	Robert Davis	Charlie Henderson	Sam Barrs	Windle McKenzie	Veta New
Donnie Griggers	Ronnie Smith	Charles Wilson	Glenn Tidwell	Daniel Dorsel	Ray Broadaway
Ed Thayer	Ron Sebree	Mark Coleman	Rob Weltz	Duane McManus	Lucia Norwood
Gary Long	Alan Long	Bobby McAllister	Glenn White	Larry Campbell	Gary Holmes
Dave Hunter	Tommy Stringer		Terry Rogers	Donnie Drew	Walter Wade

Motion was made and seconded to go into executive session to hear an eligibility appeal.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

Frank Barden, Athletic Director of Cartersville High School, gave an introduction to the Committee of the eligibility appeal for student, Jared Whatley, for a waiver of the migratory rule. Boyd Pettit, family attorney, and Ross Whatley, father of the student, spoke to the Committee at length with additional information concerning the situation.

Motion was made and seconded to come out of executive session.

Motion by Wayne Tootle, second by Mike Carswell, to approve the appeal

MOTION PASSED (voice vote) unanimous

Ken Stoudenmire, Athletic Director of Atkinson County High School, presented a proposal for region alignment for Class A. There was lengthy discussion and question/answer session about the proposal.

Danny Cronic presented the proposal from Newnan High School to change the regulation concerning seating requirements to read that one seat equals 18 inches in width.

Motion by Jesse Crews, second by Larry Campbell, to deny the proposal.

MOTION PASSED to deny (voice vote)

Motion by Earl Etheridge, second by Jesse Crews, to waive the seating requirements for the quarterfinals and to handle the semifinal seating requirements on a case-by-case basis until further data is available for study. The GHSA will mediate with both teams involved when there are concerns about safety and/or seating issues in the quarterfinals and semifinals.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

The Football Committee has been instructed to prepare the criteria for portable seating that can be used in playoffs and to present that criteria at the Spring Meeting.

Motion was made by Ed Thayer, second by Donnie Griggers, to rescind the Lacrosse proposal made at the last meeting that changed the amount of playing time allowed for lacrosse players and return to the previous format.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

The second vote was made on the following Constitutional Changes:

Revise Article IV; Section 8; F. (paragraph 2), dealing with officers (i.e., President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer, etc.) of the various regions to read: "Terms of office shall be two years and elections shall be held at the beginning of each reclassification cycle. Any vacancy occurring on a Region Committee shall be filled by the Region Committee until the next meeting of the Region."

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

Revise Article IV; Section 13; C; and By-Law 2.69(b)(8) to increase the maximum fine to a member school from \$1,000.00 to \$2,500.00.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

Motion was made and seconded that the use of a mini-game as a step in the region tie-breaker for football will be available only if the GHSA tie-breaker is used without modification.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

The following mandates for Region Subdivision to be made, effective in the 2008-10 reclassification period:

- 1. There will be a mandatory subdivision of any region that has twelve or more teams. If the region has less than twelve teams, the region has the option of subdividing if it chooses.
- 2. Decisions about whether to subdivide or not shall be made by a simple majority vote.
- 3. For football only, subdivided regions may choose to play a full region schedule by a vote of a simple majority. If the region vote is tied, the issue is forwarded to the Reclassification Committee for resolution.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

The following schools appealed for a lateral move:

Buford High School, Steve Miller Principal, from Region 6-AA to Region 8-AA (B).

President of Region 8-AA, Mark Earnest, spoke against the appeal.

Motion by Mike Carswell, second by Ron Sebree, to approve the appeal.

MOTION FAILED Roll Call Vote - No: 41 Yes: 5 Pass: 1

No: Taylor, Price, Etheridge, Cronic, Griggers, Thayer, Long, Hunter, Pilcher, Chandler, Davis, Davis, Smith, Long, Stringer, Tootle, Marchman, Walker, Wilson, Coleman, McAllister, Luke, Crews, Costlow, Barrs, Tidwell, White, Rogers, Douberly, Ingle, McKenzie, Dorsel, McManus, Campbell, Drew, Evans, Martin, Edmunds, New, Broadaway, Wade

Sebree, Henderson, Weltz, Carswell, Norwood

Pass: Holmes

Yes:

Upson-Lee High School, Cleve Hendrix Principal, from Region 1-AAAA to 4-AAAA.

Motion by Jesse Crews, second by Wayne Tootle, to deny the appeal.

MOTION PASSED to deny (voice vote)

Westside High School withdrew it's appeal.

Excel Christian Academy, Tommy Harris Headmaster, from Region 6-A to Region 5-A (A). Motion by Earl Etheridge, second by Lucia Norwood, to deny the appeal.

MOTION PASSED to deny Show of Hands: Yes - 25; No - 15

Final vote was made on accepting the Reclassification as presented by the Reclassification Committee after the December 17 meeting. Each classification was voted on separately and each classification passed.

MOTION PASSED

Dr. Ralph Swearngin, Executive Director, made the following announcement concerning a change in the football calendar:

- 1. First game in 2008 may be played on Saturday, August 23, or Friday, August 29, or Saturday, August 30.
- 2. If the first game is played on August 23, a game cannot be played on August 29 or 30. Any school with a schedule conflict that desires to play on the 23th and the 29th will need to petition the Executive Director for permission.
- 3. The earliest date for practice will be August 1 for all schools regardless of first game date.

Skip Yow, Legislative Liasion, gave a report to the Committee on the public hearings he has recently attended and will continue to keep the Committee updated on legislative issues.

Motion was made and unanimously passed, to adjourn.