GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION Thomaston, Georgia 30286

MINUTES

STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE May 10, 2011

The called meeting of the State Executive Committee of the Georgia High School Association was convened for three agenda items: change in physical exams regulation; report on public/private schools meeting; and Reclassification for 2012-13, 2013-14.

The meeting was called to order by President Gary Holmes, at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, May 10, 2011, at the Macon Convention Centre, Macon, Georgia.

Invocation was given by Dr. Ralph Swearngin, Executive Director.

Roll Call by Joyce, Kay, Associate Director, showed the following:

Present: (50)

	. ,				
Wes Taylor	Ed Pilcher	Wayne Tootle	Randy Garrett	Alan Ingram	Raynette Evans
Danny Cronic	Garrett Black	Rodney Walker	Kevin Hill	Jesse Crews	Debbie Ball
Earl Etheridge	Mike Davis	Marvin Fields	Sam Barrs	Britt Ingle	Patrick Blenke
Donnie Griggers	Bob Brannon	Mike Parris	Carror Wright	Glenn Tidwell	Tony Arasi
Christian Suttle	Lee Segars	Mike Cammack	Greg Oglesby	Scott Queen	Randall Edmunds
Dennis Stromie	Ron Sebree	Jay Russell	Dexter Wood	Duane McManus	Rudy Hampton
Gary Long	Don Corr	Jay Floyd	Glenn White	Larry Campbell	Terry Rogers
Dave Hunter	Tommy Stringer	Tracy Sanford	Jim Hughes	Donnie Drew	Lucia Norwood
			-		Gary Holmes
					Walter Wade

Dr. Swearngin and Skip Yow presented information to the Committee concerning the passage of House Bill 303 concerning who could sign physical exams. The motion was made to change the wording in the GHSA By-Law 1.41 as follows:

- (B) The physical exam must be conducted by a licensed physician, doctor of Osteopathic medicine, nurse practitioner, or physician's assistant.
- (C) The exam must be signed by an M.D. or D.O., or by a physician's assistant or an advance practice nurse who has been delegated that task by an M.D. or D.O.

MOTION PASSED (voice vote)

Earl Etheridge gave a report to the Committee on the recent meeting of an ad hoc committee on Class A championships as it applies to public and private schools. The ad hoc committee plans to meet again in June for further discussion.

Motion was made by Jesse Crews, seconded by Danny Cronic, to move the Reclassication plan of 4 to 8 off the table for a vote.

MOTION PASSED to take off table (voice vote)

Minutes - May 10, 2011 Page -2-

There were questions and discussion on the plan. Dr. Swearngin presented a handout that indicated the ramifications of increased classes/championships.

MOTION FAILED (for 4 to 8 classifications) - ROLL CALL VOTE #1 - Yes: 15 No: 35

Yes: Taylor, Etheridge, Pilcher, Black, Tootle, Garrett, Hill, Barrs, Ingram, Crews, Ingle, McManus, Evans, Rogers, Wade

No: Cronic, Griggers, Suttle, Stromie, Long, Hunter, Davis, Brannon, Segars, Sebree, Corr, Stringer, Walker, Fields, Parris, Cammack, Russell, Floyd, Sanford, Wright, Oglesby, Wood, White, Hughes, Tidwell, Queen, Campbell, Drew, Ball, Blenke, Arasi, Edmunds, Hampton, Norwood, Holmes

Motion by Dave Hunter, second by Jesse Crews, to reclassify schools in six classes.

There was discussion on the proper parliamentary procedure for a vote on a new plan.

Alan Connell, GHSA Attorney, gave his interpretation of the GHSA Constitution that the full Committee can discuss and vote on any proposal from the floor that pertains to the agenda item of Reclassification.

Jesse Crews withdrew his second.

Motion by Dave Hunter, second by Donnie Griggers, to go to six classes.

Jesse Crews logged a challenge to this motion and vote based on the GHSA Constitution, Article 3, Section 2, C. and D.

Raynette Evans made an amended motion, seconded by Carror Wright, to remain with 5 classifications. Amendment to motion was rejected by Dave Hunter.

MOTION PASSED (for 6 classifications) - ROLL CALL VOTE #2 - Yes: 26 No: 24

Yes: Cronic, Griggers, Suttle, Stromie, Long, Hunter, Davis, Brannon, Segars, Sebree, Corr, Stringer, Walker, Fields, Parris, Cammack, Russell, Floyd, Garrett, Oglesby, Wood, White, Queen, Campbell, Arasi, Edmunds

No: Taylor, Etheridge, Pilcher, Black, Tootle, Sanford, Hill, Barrs, Wright, Hughes, Ingram, Crews, Ingle, Tidwell, McManus, Drew, Evans, Ball, Blenke, Hampton, Rogers, Norwood, Holmes, Wade

Motion was made, seconded, and passed, to adjourn.